Cross-party letter from 19 MEPs call on government to end hostile language on Brexit

A cross-party group of 19 UK MEPs have written to the Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson to complain about the use of ‘utterly inappropriate language’ by government and the press in relation to Brexit negotiation. They have demanded Mr Johnson unreservedly condemn the hostile language being used and that the UK government leads by example in de-escalating such rhetoric at every opportunity and in all of its communications.

Letter in full here

The letter has been signed by: Molly Scott Cato MEP (Green), Keith Taylor MEP (Green), Jean Lambert MEP (Green), Charles Tannock MEP (Conservative), Alyn Smith MEP (SNP), Richard Corbett MEP (Labour), Catherine Bearder MEP (Liberal Democrat), Jill Evans MEP (Plaid Cymru), Seb Dance MEP (Labour), Julie Girling MEP (Conservative), Derek Vaugh MEP (Labour), John Howarth MEP (Labour), Catherine Stihler MEP (Labour), Paul Brannen MEP (Labour), Theresa Griffin MEP (Labour), Mary Honeyball MEP (Labour), Jude Kirton – Darling MEP (Labour), Clare Moody MEP (Labour), Julie Ward MEP (Labour)