Letter to David Cameron: refugee crisis

A cross-party group of 14 British MEPs, including Molly, have written a letter to David Cameron urging him to take part in an EU resettlement scheme to address the current refugee crisis in Europe.
Dear Rt Hon David Cameron MP,
As MEPs representing the views of the British public in Europe we are ashamed of the Government’s weak stance on the current refugee crisis.

We recognise that your promise to take in 4,000 refugees a year directly from camps bordering Syria is an improvement on the Government’s previous position. However, this number does not match the scale of the crisis we are facing and does nothing to help those refugees already on European soil.

In the European Parliament today, MEPs will debate plans to share asylum seekers arriving in Italy, Greece and Hungary more evenly among EU countries. Under these plans it is expected that France would take in 24,000 refugees over two years and Germany 31,000. In comparison, your Government is refusing to take even a single refugee under this scheme.

Your continued refusal to take part in a European response is unfair on these desperate refugees who have already suffered so much. It is also alienating allies in Europe at a time when you need their support.

We urge you to listen to the views of European experts on the issue of relocation and to revise your response accordingly. The only way to respond to the refugee crisis effectively is by working together. Acting alone will ensure that this humanitarian disaster haunts our consciences and revisits us in the months and years to come. 

Yours sincerely,

Keith Taylor, Green Party MEP
Catherine Bearder, Liberal Democrat MEP
Molly Scott Cato, Green Party MEP
Jean Lambert, Green Party MEP
Glenis Willmott, Leader of European Parliamentary Labour Party
Lucy Anderson, Labour Party MEP
Anneliese Dodds, Labour Party MEP
Mary Honeyball, Labour Party MEP
Jude Kirton-Darling Labour Party MEP
Catherine Stihler Labour Party MEP
Theresa Griffin, Labour Party MEP
Clare Moody, Labour Party MEP
Derek Vaughan, Labour Party MEP
Linda McAvan, Labour Party MEP